1 And One Makes 3

Slice 22

We started watching a thing on a cult on one of the streaming things. I was given viewing options, as we already have a few things going, but when given a chance to watch cult stuff I almost always push play. I will say, of all the things I am not, “follower” is toward the top of the list. I know it and so does pretty much everyone who’s ever known me a little. I’m also very not naive. But I do think the reasons behind the name of my blog here and my interest level in cults ties in with my anti-follower deal pretty well to explain this affinity and almost compulsion.

Idealiotic – is me. To nutshell it, my honest stance on the gun control issue is that guns should all just be banned. Their only purpose is to kill or hurt people or animals and, thus, should be eradicated from the planet forever and always, periodt. Idealism. I’m also not stupid and realize not only is this impossible to do for all the reasons you just thought of and more, but the fact that lots of people love guns and, are people with brains, muddies the water even further. Idiocy. My ideals are so simple and, to me, obvious, that they’re idiotic. 

I’ve watched lots of cult stuff and the admission I am making here is that when I watch these things and listen to the cult leaders who become famous enough to have documentaries made about them, I kind of get it. Their messages of self help, usually throughout the entire first episode, make me want to join. Again, I’m not stupid, but the people in these cults are usually genuinely smart. And successful.  It’s a John Galt thing. They buy into this Randian view presented to them by some hyper-intelligent master manipulator and in my Idealiotic worldview I’m pretty sure I’m just narcissistic enough to buy in.

To a point. Which, I know, the ones who survive to be interviewed for these things always say they can’t believe how blind they were. But I think my strict anti-follower 90’s mentality plus the same qualms and fears that never let me go beyond Google rabbit-holing communes (for example, I know there are some communes that would accept me in to continue being a teacher for the kids in their community and we could make candles and all eat together and I honestly think it would be a blissful life away from lots of things I am not a fan of in our current world) would let me dream these cult leader missives are great and cool, but I’m pretty sure I’d never follow through. I need a mid cult leader. Someone brilliant enough to ensnare me, but kind and altruistic enough to not be plying people with radical new thought processes and ways of living without the sycophantic ulterior motives these raging deviants always have. 

I have kids and a job and a life and I promise you, legions of Idealiotic fans who swarm, sometimes upward of a dozen-strong, to my daily musings: I am not self-involved or narcissistic enough to step up and become that leader. I know, I know – that’s what they all say. Just…if I start asking you for money or to dress a certain way, maybe unfollow. The cult of Idealiotic is not something I’d wish on anyone, hahaha.

2 thoughts on “1 And One Makes 3

  1. We’ll, I enjoyed learning more about your blog name and your philosophy, even enjoyed your diatribes! (Love the gun control discussion in your mind.) Your writing has a nice blend of serious and humor, with a healthy dash of humility. I also loved your ending, with your dozens of followers being cautioned , in case you start telling them what to wear!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment